Class 3 of Democratic women chosen to propel ‘Hoosier Women Forward’

Leadership training program announces third class to take part in initiative aimed at preparing women for influential roles in public and private sectors

INDIANAPOLIS, Aug. 3, 2020 – Twenty (20) Democratic women from across Indiana – a diverse group with impressive and varied backgrounds – have been selected for Hoosier Women Forward’s (HWF) third class. Launched in 2018, the Hoosier Women Forward leadership program is aimed at preparing and propelling Democratic women into influential roles in the public and private sectors.

“We are so pleased with how many distinguished and determined women from across our state applied this year,” said HWF Board Chair Shannon Mears. “It’s exciting to see the level of interest in our program, and that we are truly building a network of active Democratic women in Indiana.”

The new class will join the 46 women who have completed the HWF program and gone on to more active involvement in their communities. Of the past participants in just two years, 12 have run for office and 5 have been successfully elected. While having class members run for office is not the only goal of the program, increasing the number of Democratic women involved in and seeking political roles in Indiana is a long-term objective for HWF.

“Our third class of women leaders continue to reflect the diversity of our community that makes our state and nation so strong,” said Amy Levander, Hoosier Women Forward Executive Director. “It is imperative that our leadership structures reflect the values, experiences and perspectives of all Hoosiers. HWF will provide an opportunity for these women to not only learn from one another but hear from speakers on topics and experiences that will shape their personal and professional lives going forward.”

Following are the 20 women who will be participating in the nine-month HWF leadership program, which will start later this month:

Hiba Alalami – Carmel

Amy Blaker – Crown Point

Linda Broadfoot – Indianapolis

Caitlin Byczko – Indianapolis

Tanisha Carothers – Evansville

Dayna Colbert – Fishers

Jennifer Crossley – Bloomington

NaTrina DeBow – Indianapolis

Pamela Dechert – Indianapolis

Sally Dixon – Granger

Natalia Galvan – Bloomington

Ruth Hook – Hartford City

Dawn Jones – South Bend

Melissa Rinehart – Fort Wayne

Lauren Suriel – Indianapolis

Jennifer Todd – Terre Haute

Kimberly Townsend – Anderson

Sarah Vitale – Muncie

Destiny Wells – Indianapolis

Amy Word – Evansville

Hoosier Women Forward is a Section 527 nonprofit political organization and raises funds through private donations and fundraising events.

To learn more about HWF, visit, or visit the organization on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.